Book Reviews

Since most of my book buyers have not been allowed to leave a review on Amazon because of Amazon’s discriminatory review policies, I have set up this page for just that purpose. For those of you that have purchased books directly from me and have had no option for publishing a review, this page is for you. I would be most grateful for your time and words. Even if you have not purchased one of my books, but have read works from my blog, please feel welcome to leave a review.

Thank You, Richard Rensberry, Author at QuickTurtle Books®

Advertisements

8 thoughts on “Book Reviews

  1. Dale Neff September 25, 2017 / 9:08 am

    I been reading the City Slicker’s Guide to the Amish Country and I enjoyed the book, totally. I very much liked the way you described the businesses in a way I never thought of. Than as I read the “Squirrels” I really started to be a part of the life you where portraying. As I kept reading the stories, I found myself going back over again, out of pleasure. Some great stuff in your latest book, Richard, and I plan on reading stories and poems again. Thank You for a very good read.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. GOBLIN’S GOOP

    5.0 out of 5 starsFun Read
    ByFelicia Don September 12, 2017
    Format: Paperback
    Goblin’s Goop is a VERY cute story. The illustrations are EXCELLENT and will keep young readers engaged from start to finish. The Author really captures the essence of all of the characters in the story. Good fun read!

    5.0 out of 5 starsI love it. It has lots of bright colors and …
    Bydeniaon September 11, 2017
    Format: Paperback
    I love it. It has lots of bright colors and rhymes. It’s fun and the best part is how they won their victory with their music and shouts. Nice way of telling the Bible story of Jericho. I love it.

    5.0 out of 5 starsFun bug parade in rhyme.
    ByFichfarmon September 20, 2017
    Format: Paperback
    Love the rhymes with a great story and song delivery. What kid doesn’t love rhyming and bugs and music?

    5.0 out of 5 starsGreat illustrations. Great message.
    ByQueenon September 20, 2017
    Format: Paperback
    This book shows children that if everyone comes together they can accomplish anything. Great illustrations. Great message.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. MBR Bookwatch: September 2017
    James A. Cox, Editor-in-Chief
    Midwest Book Review
    278 Orchard Drive, Oregon, WI 53575

    http://www.midwestbookreview.com/mbw/sep_17.htm#lorraine

    Lorraine’s Bookshelf

    Goblin’s Goop
    Richard Rensberry, author
    Arun Kumar, illustrator
    QuickTurtle Books LLC
    http://www.quickturtlebooks.com
    9781940736228, $13.99, PB, 56 pages, http://www.amazon.com

    “Goblin’s Goop” is a kids’ heroic cartoon epic about environmental threats of dastardly GMOs and other poisonous, factory (man)-made substances. To the amazing rescue march the soldiers of nature, bugs! Ants, bees, crickets, mosquitos, even flowers and birds come making their own martial music, ready to defend the essence of healthy Nature and the environment everywhere, even in poisoned ground. They surround the evil, goblins’ goop making factory of Monsanto, and like Joshua, they blow and blow until the walls come tumbling down. Charming epic verse is complemented by bright portraiture of the insects’ attack in the defense of Nature. Children ages 5-8 will revel in the story and pictures, cheering the demise of the evil green goblins and their poisonous goop, at the hands of the unlikely heroic challengers, bugs! Dedicated to all kids in the future who deserve a better world, “Goblin’s Goop” is a modern morality fable based on environmental truths.

    Nancy Lorraine
    Senior Reviewer

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Denise September 2, 2017 / 12:09 pm

    I finally found time to sit and read City Slickers Guide to Amish Country. Found it to be very interesting and held my attention. I am not one to usually sit and read. The stories of the businesses and people kept me entertained. It’s a great read and has a ton of useful information.
    Great Job Richard, Thank you for putting your time and effort into such a wonderful book.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for your time and kind words. It was a an enjoyable project. I will be working to get it into ebook form this coming winter so that it will be available in the Amazon Kindle store next year.

      Like

  5. Review of The Wolf Pack Moon by Richard Rensberry by Heather-Joan Carls of The Backwater Primer

    The Wolf Pack Moon by Richard Rensberry was written with inspiration from the wolf pack moon during the months of January and February in 2015.  The Algonquin Indians gave the moon during this time that name because it is when they hunted and gathered around the Great Lakes in Michigan, the author’s home state.
    The poem’s contained within The Wolf Pack moon represent a struggle, all ‘what if’s?’.  Some poems are positive in nature, others are negative.  They are written in a simple, satirical form and the reader may find them humorous at times.  They are written in first person, from the author’s point of view.
    These poems are very thought-provoking and poignant.  They will make you laugh and smile and may you shed a tear.  There is definitely a presence of struggle within The Wolf Pack Moon.  It is almost like the poems fall into one another, almost like a narrative, that is kind of disjointed in a way.  To me, it wasn’t like your average book of poetry.  It kept me engaged, interested, hanging on to read the next page and the next.  It left me waiting for his next book of poems to come out.
    Although I enjoyed each and every poem, my favorite poem in this book was ‘Ghost’.  There is a poem in here that everyone will find that will be a favorite of theirs.  Author Richard Rensberry provides clear, engaging poems that will grab each and every reader.  The Wolf Pack by Richard Rensberry will be an excellent addition to any poetry lover’s collection and any readers’ library and will be enjoyed for years to come.

    This is not my genre but the book cover got me very curious and I follow my curiosity.  I hesitated especially when it was a book of poems,  I mean how do you give a review?  After reading this book I was awe struck and dumbfounded.    Words can be fascinating or maybe I took it for granted.   This book of poems brought the past back and it haunted one’s memories.  Words dealt with the past and present events.  Vietnam and the draft, touching moments which brought back memories, Vietnam a lottery to kill.  Yes, even though I was a small child, I remember the draft and how worried I was about having my love ones number come up in the lottery. The mention of past and present Presidents Bush and Obama.  Noah’s Arc, which said, “I became the past and future combined.  Social mania was a hoot!  So true and so funny and one more thing, “People look up for once not down, put that devices down.”  Dirty words,  a toothbrush knowing it’s way around.  I pictured that in my mind and laughed my head off.  Oh another thing, VOICE, the mention of Kelly Clarkson and Adam Lambert, if I had their voices I would drive everyone insane because you won’t be able to stop me from showing off my vocals.  This one really meant a whole lot with a few words, BULLY, “if I were an onion I’d make you cry or THE BIG HOUSE, “I hold the key to everything evil.”  The intensity there, duly noted.  I did not realize poems could invigorate your mind with snippets of life.  Choosing the right word is a challenge however the author met that challenge and I was amazingly impressed.  Michigan to Canada and Alaska and ecology.  Rain, I’d teach Heaven to beat a rhythmical drum.  So much to soak and delight in its words. Fluidity best describe the movement of each poem and the writing style,  perfect.   Well this is my honest review and I hope you like it.  Thank you, Darlene Cruz 

    Liked by 1 person

  6. THE WOLF PACK MOON

    5.0 out of 5 stars A magical read
    By Kim laettneron August 19, 2016
    Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It seemed to start out a bit repetitively but I soon found it was in the repeat phrase where it could sweep you away as you imagined yourself being a part of the poem. I highly recommend this to any poetry fan or anyone who believes in the magic of their surroundings.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s